Skip to main content
Home2016 Tour Homes

2017 Candlelight Tour Homes

Johnson Home - 517 W. Spring

The house was one of four houses built in this area between 1873-1879 by an unknown owner. It originally faced south towards Palo Pinto and Spring Streets.  The house is made of cyprus wood brought to Texas from Louisiana. The house was used during World War II as apartments for the soldiers at Fort Wolter.  This home has had several owners, however, Stan Garner restored the home in 2015. The current owners of this lovely two-story home are Mac and Laura Roberts.

Tour location sponsored by: Remax Trinity

Fleming Home - 321 W. Oak
The mid-century ranch house was built by J.R. Fleming and his wife Ora between 1949 and 1950. The Fleming family owned a Pecan Shelling business and Cotton Oil Business in town. The Carr-Thomas families owned this home for over 50 years, the Ferguson family purchased in 2008. In 2014, Craig and Mildred Farmer purchased the home and are the owners of this beautiful mid-century ranch home.

Tour location sponsored by:  Rosa’s Cafe, Citizens National Bank of Texas


Frazier Home - 305 S. Lamar

This farm-style house was built about 1901 by Claude E. Frazier a dentist and his wife. In 1930 the home sold to Walter and Clara Browder, who owned the home for 34 years.  They purchased the home for $2,400 and sold it in 1964 for $7,000. The proud new owners are Clayton and Lydia Kelley who purchased it in January of 2017.  The home has been extensively remodeled including the addition of a master suite.

Tour location sponsored by:  Texas Bank Financial


Williams Home - 401 W. Simmons

This 8 room cottage/farmhouse was built circa 1896 in the Queen Anne style and with Eastlake style ornamentations.  A steeply pitched roof tops the body.  The home has been remolded numerous times.  The house is constructed of cypress and was a modest home of the time, but well built.  The lot was purchased by Sam R. Williams and his wife Martha along with their young daughter, Lillie who lived there until 1906. In 1977, it was on the Spring Festival Tour and was owned by Mr. and Mrs. Mac Smith who owned the house until 1983. The home was renovated in 2016 by Joe and Kathy Wylie.  The new owner, Jessica Eaves, came along for this charming farmhouse just this year.

Tour location sponsored by:  Alamo Title - Weatherford

Cornelius Home
415 W. Couts

The farmhouse style home dates back to 1880 and was originally a frame home belonging to Harry and Emma Cornelius.  The home was bricked and had additional renovations done in the 1970s and 80s.  The home had several additional owners until it was purchased by current owner Jennifer Lundy.  She has done extensive renovation throughout the house to enhance its farmhouse style.

Tour location sponsored by:  Jamie Bodiford Brinkley - Century 21 Judge Fite

Doss Heritage and Culture Center - 1400 Texas Drive

The Texas history museum celebrates Parker County's rich tapestry of cattle barons and cowboys, Broadway stars and political leaders in spacious exhibit spaces in three galleries.  Exhibits include artifacts and information about Weatherford native Mary Martin, and learn about early inhabitants and pioneer settlers in the historical gallery.  The Parker County Quilter’s Guild will be at the museum from noon to 6 p.m. with quilting demonstrations and a raffle quilt with the drawing on tour day.  A new exhibit entitled “Quilts- Piecing Together Past and Present” is also opening which features both historic quilts and modern quilts as well as Parker County themed quilts. Also on tour is the first of five cabins that will eventually make up the Pioneer Cabin Park at the rear of the facility.  The log cabin was originally located down on Grind Stone Creek that was on the back of the McDonald’s property in Millsap.

Tour location sponsored by:  PlainsCapital Bank




Chandor Home & Gardens - 711 West Lee Avenue

Although Douglas Chandor’s fame evolves from his talent as a portrait artist, he is best remembered in Weatherford for his work as a gardener. You can see his hard work which is the result of many a long hard day with pick, shovel and even dynamite. The beautiful home is nestled quite comfortably among boulders, ponds, fountains and a waterfall. This unique treasure is now owned by the City of Weatherford and maintained by the Parks and Recreation Department.

Tour location sponsored by: Parker County Today Magazine

Vintage Grill and Car Museum - 202 Fort Worth Highway

Built around 1919, the buildings that make up Vintage Grill and Car Museum have always revolved around cars. The Bankhead Highway came through Weatherford around 1921, bringing with it automobile traffic. The Sanborn map from January 1921 shows a building with “gas tanks” on a diagonal at the corner, auto sales & office, a repair shop to the east, and a garage with a 50-car capacity. Later, the gas station would become the Greyhound Bus stop for Weatherford. The collaboration of entrepreneur and owner Tom Moncrief and the team at Vintage Grill have revived the corner and has proven that when the history of a building is embraced, great things are possible.  The buildings host a portion of Mr. Moncrief’s collection of vintage and collectable autos.

Tour location sponsored by:  Vintage Grill and Car Museum