Prince Memorial Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
410 West Oak Street
The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church (C.M.E.) began in Parker County on December 2, 1867. Bishop Miles built the first church edifice, located on West Oak St. in 1871. Now known as the Prince Memorial C.M.E. church it was named in honor of the Reverend A. Bartlett Prince, who was a charter member of the congregation and the church’s first presiding elder. Built in an architectural style of the period, the church measures 21 feet by 31 feet. The exterior features its original bell tower, arched windows, and steeply pitched gables. It is the oldest church building in Parker County. Boze Ikard, trail guide and longtime companion of famous Texas cattlemen Oliver Loving and Charles Goodnight, was once a member of this fascinating church. Together these three men blazed the trails that enabled Texans to move great herds of Longhorn cattle across the plains of the United States.
Return to the Heritage Map